Using ES for visual search

Hi all, I am pretty new to Elasticsearch and wondering how I can index a set of arrays (each array contains 128 float numbers); then with a new array, how can I find it's nearest neighbor with ES and if such how do I define the distance function?

Long story if you have time, what I am trying to do is to use ES for image retrieval purpose using the bag-of-word model. Let's say I have about 1M images and extract SIFT feature from each image (average 1000 features for each image), from there I build a dictionary of "visual words" (using K-mean clustering) of, say, 2M words. Each "visual word" is an array of 128 float values.

So the 1st task is to index the whole dictionary into Elastic Search. So far what I think I could do is to represent each "visual word" with a JSON like this:

{images: [list of images that the word appears - will explain later], features: [array of 128 floats]} 

in which the features field could be a straight array like: features: [1.2, 0.1456, ...], or nested key-value like features: [{f1: 1.2}, {f2: 0.1456}, ...]

The next task is for each of my 1M images, each of which comes with a set of SIFT features, I need to "quantize" each of the image's features to a "visual word" in the dictionary (finding nearest neighbor). After that is done, I imagine that the "images" field of each "visual word" in my index will be updated like this: For word 1, images:[img10, img35, img278], for word 2, images: [img12345, img9765], etc. (you know, like an index in a book).

The query task is similar, after querying each feature of a new image (i.e., finding the nearest neighbor in ES), I need to rank the best match images from my 1M images.

If you have read to this point, may be you could tell me if what I propose to do is feasible with Elasticsearch. Any advice is very much appreciated. Thanks

This article my colleague wrote is Solr-centric. But the same ideas could
apply to Elasticsearch. Not a full answer, but thought I'd share