Using painless with aggregation results

(Sri) #1

Hi,

I am a little new to using painless scripting. I was able to use it in a kibana visualization to convert the units of a field. Also in a query_and_update scenario.

Now I have a situation/aggregation that does not fit kibana, so trying to use the 3rd party transform plugin. I thought it should be possible to use scripted_fields to count the number of occurrences of a specific term in the aggregated results. But, I havent figured how the right syntax it seems.

Once past this problem - If statusText can be "a" "b" or "c" etc., I would like to calculate how many "a", "b" and "c" were found.

{
  "aggs": {
      "terms": {
        "field": "myfield.raw",
        "size": 10000
      },
      "aggs": {
        "latest_record": {
          "top_hits": {
            "sort": [
              {
                "@timestamp": {
                  "order": "desc"
                }
              }
            ],
            "_source": {
              "includes": [
                "statusText"
              ]
            },
            "size": 1
          }
        }
      }
    },
    size = 0,
   "scripted_fields": {
   "script": {
		"lang": "painless",
		"inline": "int cnt=0; return cnt;"
      }
   }
}

"[parsing_exception] Unknown key for a START_OBJECT in [scripted_fields]., with { line=1 & col=227 }"

Thanks

(Simon Willnauer) #2

I think your scripted fields should look like this:

"scripted_fields": {
   "my_field_name" : {
      "script": {
	  	"lang": "painless",
		"inline": "int cnt=0; return cnt;"
        }
   }
}

(Sri) #3

Thanks @s1monw Simon,

I tried the additional "nesting" now and got the same error. I believe I had tried few variants like this earlier too.