Visualisation to replay user session/journey

Hi community!

I am a complete newbie to ELK though have been using Discover for a few months to randomly investigate issues experienced by our end users. We currently use ELK to log most of the activity that happens on our SAAS platform which consists of native mobile and web apps.

I've been trying to find the best way to use Kibana's visualisation capabilities to represent specific user sessions and journeys. For example, our log captures when a users signs in to our app, when they create an account then subsequent screens they might browse.

What would be the best way for me to build a visualisation that represents such user journeys in a way that would be friendly for business users to digest? Are there any specific plug-ins that someone could recommend or is this best I try to export the log and use another piece of software (though I have not found anything that easily meets my needs).

Would really appreciate any advice as I really see ELK being a great all-round solution.

Bump :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

I'm starting to think nobody has attempted this as it's not the right tool for my needs. Any suggestions on what might be a good alternative team?

Welcome to the community! Aligning your data to a customer journey can be a very powerful way to analyze your data and make it make sense to those reading your dashboards / analysis. There's a bunch of ways to do this but it really depends :tm: on your data and what your exact workflow is. here's a few thoughts from easiest to more involved. this is by no means exhaustive :wink: :

• the "unique count" of sessions in visualizations (cardinality aggregation under the hood) is your friend. make sure you aren't counting raw logs but reducing for the number of sessions.