When you delete a doc, it does not get actually deleted until the relevant internal lucene segment (a subset of the actual lucene index) that includes deletes gets merged "out". If you want to completely optimize an index, you can optimize it down into a single segment, or run the the optimize request with only_expunge_deletes set to true. Note, this will be an intensive IO operation.
On Tuesday, March 1, 2011 at 9:28 AM, Petri Lehtinen wrote:
I have a single node with zero configuration (the default). It takes
about 20GB of disk space and had 45M documents. I removed
approximately half of the documents, but no disk space was freed. I
also ran the "optimize" command by hand, but still no free space.
So, when is the disk space going to be freed up? Or is it? I'm using