Which is the main master in 3 dedicated master node?

Suppose I have a 3 dedicated master node and 4 data nodes. At a moment are all 3 acting as a master or is there a supreme master between them so that when it goes down another is elected as Supreme Master ?

Are 3 master acting together at one time with each controlling some primary shards? So when one goes down, another master will take its primary shards and that will be done by voting?

One of the nodes will be acting as master at any time with the others monitoring and waiting to step in if required.

Thanks for the reply. But then what is the need to make a 3 node cluster. I can also make a 2 node cluster right, with one of my data nodes as voting node.

Also can you point me to an article where these things are explained?

You can make 3 if your data nodes master eligible and skip dedicated master nodes altogether and the cluster will still work. Having dedicated master nodes is usually recommended for large clusters and/or very busy clusters where e.g. load may lead to long GC or the current master node not having enough resources to complete tasks in a timely fashion.

See for instance Resilience in small clusters | Elasticsearch Guide [8.11] | Elastic and the surrounding pages in the manual.

Hi, suppose I have 2 dedicated master and 3 data nodes. One of the data nodes is also voting eligible.
Suppose m1 is active master.
If m1 and m2 loses communication, will m2 elect itself as master since data node can vote in master election process. Will this cause split brain?

You should ALWAYS look to have at least three master eligible nodes in a cluster, never two.

Yes you are correct but I want to understand the reasons. Will voting only data node help in avoiding splitbrain if there are 2 dedicated masters?