Why elasticsearch still check the length of a keyword field, even if it's not indexed?

Hi all,
I'm new to Elasticsearch, using version 5.3.

As i understand, the length of keyword field is limited to about 32K due to the limitation of Lucene's term byte-length limit of 32766.

But, the thing I don't understand is, when I set a field type to keyword, and index to false,and store by default is false, means that this field is not indexed and not stored.
When I save data that more than 32k into that field, I still get the error, says"DocValuesField "newField7" is too large, must be <= 32766".

As my question, why elasticsarch still check the length of this filed, even if I don't index nor store it?
Why not ignore it and just keep it in _source? Is there any other things that elasticearch still have to do with this field, even if it's not indexed nor stored?

I think elasticsearch do not need to store this field's data to a Lucene term, right? then why keep the limitation?

1 Like

Can anyone help? @elastic

Read this and specifically the "Also be patient" part.

It's fine to answer on your own thread after 2 or 3 days (not including weekends) if you don't have an answer.

Have a look at https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/reference/current/enabled.html

@dadoonet thanks for your response, and sorry for my rush reply. I will follow the code of conduct more carefully.

Back to my question.
I have already found and read the link you provided before I post, and it just not answered my question.
As the link page says:

The enabled setting, which can be applied only to the mapping type and to object fields, causes Elasticsearch to skip parsing of the contents of the field entirely.The JSON can still be retrieved from the _source field, but it is not searchable or stored in any other way.

Which not solve my problem withkeyword type field.