[7.0.0] Kibana plugin development sidebar problems

Hi there,

I'm trying to develop a simple Kibana plugin using the React framework (library, to be precise).

Now, I'm not a React expert and I'm having problems with a couple of minor tasks.

1. When I generate a plugin using the plugin generator and I specify the title of the plugin in the index.js file, I can find the new tab in the main sidebar BUT I cannot find a way to put a logo (either one of the Kibana EuiIcon or a custom svg logo) next to the write. Where (which file and portion of code) do I have to specify which logo to be seen in the navbar?

2. Generating the plugin, I noticed the arrow to Collapse/Expand the sidebar at the bottom of the sidebar disappeared. Why did it happen and how can I reinsert it?

Just to make it clear what I am talking about, I'll post here the image of the original Kibana 7.0 interface (where you can see the collapse/expand arrow) and then the image of the Kibana 7.0 interface with my added plugin (where you can see the missing icon and the disappeared collapse/expand arrow).

ORIGINAL

CUSTOM WITH MY SAMPLE PLUGIN

Also, in this case I wanted to add a new tab and it came for free with the plugin generator. What if I wanted to make an additional visualization and so visualize my custom icon only at visualization creation time?
Is there any reliable resource where to find such info?

Thank you so much!

Since the APIs are still changing, there isn't really a great single place to find info about plugin development.

The icon can be set in the uiExports section of your index.js. Do you mind providing what you've got there so far?

Here's an example: https://github.com/elastic/kibana/blob/57d5afb6a34a7248dead1fc3d198f1d407387bd9/src/legacy/core_plugins/timelion/index.ts#L60

Hi there,

thank you for the prompt reply.

Ok, the euiIconType worked but I cannot find a way to use a custom svg.