A new contributor for elastic search

Hello,

My name is Hasan Jaddouh and I've been a software engineer at Noon for the past three years. Noon is very popular e-commerce company operating in the UAE. As part of my role, I handle the search engine responsible for powering the website's search feature

In addition to my professional work, I also have been engaged in competitive programming for several years, so I have relatively advanced knowledge in algorithms and data structures.

I am interested in learning and understanding the intricacies of search engine technology. that's why I decided to join the community of elasticsearch developers and contribute to the development. however, I am quite new the open source projects and contributions. I have browsed the github repo of Elasticsearch and I checked the contribution section, but I still feel stuck as I don't have experience in Java language and other related tech stack used in elasticsearch. (my strongest languages are python and C++)

I am more interested in learning and contributing to the codebase and the core functionality/features of elasticsearch on the server side. I am curious if there is any group chat used by the developers/contributors of elasticsearch? and if new members like myself can receive mentorship from experienced Elasticsearch developers? Additionally, I want to know if there's a roadmap or a designated space where upcoming plans for feature/functionality development are outlined and if there's any place where contributors are assigned development tasks other than the "issues" tab in github repo?

I appreciate any guidance or information you can provide.

Hi @hasanjaddouh and welcome!

There's a community Slack forum as well as this discussion forum, feel free to ask questions on either (or indeed both, as long as you cross-link your posts to avoid duplicated effort in answering them).