Attachments download are really slow

We have a combination of the HIVE and Elasticsearch setup on Docker. When we attempt to download any attachments from the HIVE which stores the documents in Elasticsearch, the process of download is really slow. For example a 780KB file (less than 1mb) takes approximate 2 minutes waiting before the file download has initiated,

We have eliminated the network since other docker containers share same internal subnet and file download speeds from other containers is fast (normal speed).

We suspect that we need to tune a parameter in ElastcSearch? could it be an index issue? Is there any parameters from ElasticSearch that we need to modify and increase? How do I trace what is happening in Elasticsearch when I am attempting the download?

Apologies, I come from an Oracle background (relational databases) and I am new to elasticsearch.

We are using ElasticSearch 5.6.2 running on Docker - 18.03.1-ce running on CentOS Linux release 7.4.1708

Many thanks!

It's actually not a great idea IMHO to store big blobs in elasticsearch.
It has not been designed for that.
I'm not saying that explains what you are seeing but just sharing some thoughts.

Thanks for your prompt response.

Please forgive me for this silly question but how did you know it's stored as a BLOB datatype? Also how do I query elasticsearch to find out where the files are being stored? (Default location)

Again I am from an Oracle background and elasticsearch is new to me.

Thanks!

That's a guess. I believe you have a field with a BASE64 content. This is what I'm calling the blob.

Thank you!

One final request, How do I query to find out the location where files are being stored in elasticsearch?

You don't have to know that.
It's an internal Lucene format in the data directory.

Again, thank you for your prompt response.

So am I correct to think that attachments of documents should be avoided with ElasticSearch full stop?