}
}
output {
elasticsearch {
hosts => localhost:9200
}
}

MylogFile.log(Apache Log)

127.0.0.1 - frank [10/Oct/2000:13:55:36 -0700] "GET /apache_pb.gif HTTP/1.0" 200 2326 "http://www.example.com/start.html" "Mozilla/4.08 [en] (Win98; I ;Nav)"

When i run logstash.conf it creates the following index in elasticsearch :

health  status   index                            
   yellow  open     logstash-2016.10.06

The following index is empty and does not get any data from my log file. Please help? I am very new to Elk stack.

Things to look into:

• Logstash could be tailing the file. Check the sincedb file (see logs for its path) to be sure. Delete it or set sincedb_path to /dev/null.
  • If the input file is older than 24 hours you need to adjust the ignore_older option.
  • Does the user Logstash runs as have permission to the file?
  • I wonder if you need to include the drive letter in the absolute path.

Thank you for your fast response Magnus, where is the sincedb file located ?

Do you mean like this :
input {
file {
path => "\bin\MylogFile.log"
start_position => "beginning"
sincedb_path => "/dev/null"
}
}
output {
elasticsearch {
hosts => localhost:9200
}
}

where is the sincedb file located ?

See the file input plugin documentation. The exact path is listed in Logstash's log, at least if you enable verbose logging.

sincedb_path => "/dev/null"

/dev/null is for non-Windows, sorry. Use nul on Windows.

I have found my issue. It appears i was looking at the wrong URL.

The URL that i was looking at was URL : localhost:9200/logstash-2016.10.10?=pretty=true which returns the setting of the index.

I then used this URL : http://localhost:9200/logstash-2016.10.10/_search?=pretty=true

My log file :

1234 hello
1234 hello
1234 hello
1234 hello
1234 hello

When i do a search query URL : http://localhost:9200/logstash-2016.10.10/_search?=pretty=true

Output :

{
  "took" : 4,
  "timed_out" : false,
  "_shards" : {
    "total" : 5,
    "successful" : 5,
    "failed" : 0