Converting React JS website to Kibana plugin

I have developed a small dashboard and website in React JS.
I want to insert it as a plugin into Kibana. I have some queries regarding the same. They are:

1. Can I convert a website to a plugin? Or should I start coding in Kibana plugin from scratch and implement the functionalities in my website?
  2. How do I proceed?
  3. Does Kibana plugin support React JS or should I re-write the code in Angular JS?
  4. Can I convert a website into a plugin? If yes, how?
  5. Do I need to clone the Kibana source code and modify the same to add in plugin?

Hi

Can anyone provide insight on this topic?

I am completely new to ELK.

Hello! You can definitely use React in Kibana - we use it heavily and have migrated away from Angular.

I'd recommend reading this page in the docs:

One of the things to notice is that a 3rd party plugin (which you want to build) must be made against a specific stack version and if you want it to work on a newer one it may have to updated.

A 3rd party plugin that was updated recently is GitHub - pjhampton/kibana-prometheus-exporter: Prometheus metrics for Kibana

You'd develop this inside the Kibana code base so that you can leverage the types.

1 Like

Hi Jean,

Thanks for the reply

So I need to clone the Kibana repo and make changes in the same right?
And should I also have Elasticsearch and Logstash configured on the same system, and then run Kibana locally?

I think most of the steps are outlined here: External plugin development | Kibana Guide [8.3] | Elastic

You'll place your plugin inside of plugins top level directory then run Kibana as a developer to iteratively build out your plugin.

You'll need Elasticsearch running, but this is done easily once you have the Kibana repo with yarn es snapshot. See kibana/CONTRIBUTING.md at a0cb2608fbc5bed92b290559146c787f158aee7d · elastic/kibana · GitHub.

1 Like
  1. I cloned the kibana git hub repo
  2. yarn kbn bootstrap ----> was succesfull