Custom Visualisation - Specify OnClick event handler

Greetings Kibana community!

I am attempting to determine the "proper" way to specify what happens when the a user clicks a bar in the histogram visualisation. I pulled out the source code and noted the VislibVisType object that is created, appears to define various settings relating to the histogram.

Given that that I believe these visualisations make use of flot, is there any analogue in VislibVisType for specifying the bindEvent hooks, for the underlying flot graph?

I should add that I am very new to almost all of the technologies used in the Elastic stack, so please forgive me if I have missed something glaringly obvious!

The visualizations in Kibana aren't based on flot, they use D3 and we use our own wrapper visualization library.

I don't think I understand what you're trying to do though. Are you trying to create your own visualization plugin, or add something to the existing click handler?

Thanks for the response Joe!

I was scraping my information together from various sources that I could find, and it looks like I picked up some misinformation.

Ideally, the aim is to "do something" when a part of a visualisation is clicked. IE A bar on a histogram, a segment on a pie chart, dot on a line chart etc. The "something" is still being debated by the product owners and architects, but it will likely involve communication with an entity external to Kibana; be it a browser plugin, web api, or something else entirely.

For experimentation purposes I had simply copied out the existing visualisations into installedPlugins. However, if it would be possible to modify the existing visualisation plugins, without a great deal of intrusion, that would be ideal.

In conclusion: I need to add something to the existing click handler.

This project has now been shelved until a later date (we're still going to be using Kibana, just without the onclick customisation, though that is likely to be coming back).