Datatypes are not updated on Kibana

Hi team,

I am new to Elasticsearch. I am sending the Purelytics data from Dynatrace to ES and can see the data on Kibana. we have observed that data.startTime and data.endTime of JSON documents are mapped to Number data type. We are not able to modify the existing index data types. So, I have created the new index and modified the mappings of data.startTime and endTime to Date format, able to see that change in ES but not reflected on Kibana webpage. So could you please suggest what would be the better option to do so.

Thanks
Shyamala

Kibana caches field info from your index pattern. You can manually refresh it by clicking the refresh button on the index pattern management page:

Thanks for the Response Bargs!!!

even after clicking on refresh button also , having the same issue

Hmm, so you deleted the old indices with the incorrect mappings and the index pattern is pointing at the new indices with the correct mappings? What version of Kibana and ES are you using?

I didn't deleted the old version but reindexed the data to new index.I am using 5.4.1 of both Kibana and ES

Does the existing kibana index pattern match both the old indices and new indices you reindexed into? It sounds like you might need to create a new index pattern that only matches the new indices.

I have created new index with the same mapping as old one but the difference is i have changed the data.starttime and data.endtime datatypes to date

Right. Does your index-pattern in Kibana match the names of the old indices, the new indices, or both? If the index-pattern in Kibana still matches the names of the old indices, it's still going to pick up field info from their mappings.

yes names of the both indices is same... so can i delete the old one ?Here i am directly pulling the data from Dynatrace server

Bargs,

Is there any way to update the data types while re indexing the data?