Different dashboard from multiple indexes for different project logs

Hi,
Use case : Multiple project logs file
Kibana : Each project log files is stored as one index like project1 index is index1 , project2 index project2

I am new to ELK stack , Need advise do I need to create multiple dashboards for each project index or I can use the same dashboard and can configure the index id in dashboard through API call ?
If anybody has faced this kind of use case and have better solution let me know .

Thanks ,
Divya

Hi @DG13,

It is possible to have a single dashboard with visualizations using different indices as data source as the index pattern is always tied to the individual visualization, not the dashboard, and you can place any visualization on a dashboard.

The steps are as follows:

• Go to Management > Index patterns and configure one index pattern per project index. And index pattern is a set of indices but it can also contain just a single one (you've probably already done this)
  • Go to Visualize and create your visualizations . If you create a new visualization, you will be prompted to select an index pattern as data source. A best practice is to prefix the name with something like [project1] to make it obvious what index pattern the visualization is referring to.
  • Go to Dashboard, create a new dashboard and add all the visualizations you want, no matter the index pattern.