Elastic search as Reporting Data Store

Hi,

I am new to ElasticSearch. I am trying to create a reporting application with Elastic search as Data Store. Below are few Questions that i need answers for. I apologize priory as most of the questions may be basic.

1. Is there any way to index data from a delimited file other than Logstash that is better?
  2. Logstash takes a long time for me to load data.(10,000 documents per minute). I learnt, i need to change the workers, JVM heap size to improve performance. Is there anything left out to improve the loading performance?
  3. I understood that the Logstash Worker attribute works based on the Processor cores. So, if i have a 4 core processor, Do i have to specify 4? What will happen, if i have more / less no. of workers?
  4. How much should be the ideal JVM heap size ? (Recommended)
  5. For Indexing the Data, How should i select the no. of Clusters, Nodes, Shards etc., Also, how to do it?
  6. How should we handle Cache to improve performance.
  7. How aggregations work ? Does it only fetch the data or does it create buckets and store the data ?
  8. I came across the X-Pack plugin and planning to use it. Is there any suggestions/ alternatives for this ?
  9. I s there any Reporting tool (Kibana is for Visualizations) where the data is shown in Grids with pager?

Thanks in Advance,
Gowtham

1. It depends. What is the input format you have?
  2. It depends on your Logstash configuration file I think. May be you are doing heavy transformations? You should share it here.
  3. I don't know. I think it uses the ideal number of workers based on what it detected. May be ask this in #logstash channel instead?
  4. Depends on what you are doing I guess. You should install x-pack and monitor the logstash instance and see how much pressure you have.
  5. There are plenty of discussions about sizing. In short, watch: https://www.elastic.co/fr/elasticon/conf/2016/sf/quantitative-cluster-sizing