Extract _id's of matching documents

Hi,

I'm trying to extract a list of matching documents for simple single-word queries, and I only need the document _id's. I'm running Elasticsearch 6.4.3 on a machine with 64GB RAM (I've given Elasticsearch 31GB). My data set is currently 166 million documents and Kibana is showing 51GB of disk space and 17 primary shards, 0 replica shards. I have only a single node at present. It's showing the JVM heap using 2.6 / 31GB.

I have a lot of servers writing data to my Elasticsearch instance (maybe around 1,000 writes per second curently), and only one trying to read from it.

If I run single-word queries in Kibana I usually get results back in much less than a second, although occasionally it takes 10 seconds or Kibana times out after 30 seconds. It's hard to diagnose because there seems to be caching and repeated attempts at a query are usually very fast.

I'm new to Elasticsearch & Lucene but my understanding is that the inverted index is essentially a list of matching documents for each indexed keyword. If that's true, I really just need the contents of the inverted index fairly directly. Even though searches (usually) run quickly, the scroll API is unusably slow at present. For a search with 100,000 hits it might take an average of 10 seconds to produce every 1,000 results.

I've tried queries like this:
http://server/index/_search?scroll=3m, content {query: {query_string: {query: "fantastic"}}, size: 1000, _source: false}
and
http://server/index/_search?scroll=3m, content {query: {bool: {filter: {query_string: {query: "fantastic"}}}}, sort: ['_doc'], size: 1000, _source: false}