Failed elasticsearch upgrade 1.5.2 --> 2.4.5

Hi All,

I'm a relative newbie to RELK and it's been along to day to boot, so bear with me if I'm missing something obvious or if this question has been answered here already.

I'm attempting to upgrade a two-node RELK cluster from 1.x to 5.x. Started by cloning one node to a test environment, created a new cluster parallel to prod and have upgraded/rolled back a handful of times with little trouble (rolled back to snapshots of the VM).

In every test upgrade I was able to first upgrade ES to 2.5.4, start it, install the migration plugin and reindex in place to 5.x compatibility and upgrade again to 5.x.

Today in production I found that ES 2.4.5 wouldn't start, with errors to the effect the indices were too ancient. The links provided led to docs for the upgrade API, but those docs said the upgrade API was deprecated and I should just upgrade to 2.x and use the migration plugin to reindex. Gah.

What am I missing? Any help is appreciated.

Randy Rue
Seattle WA

Can you elaborate a little more on the process you used here?

Hi Mark, thank you for your reply.

I cloned one node of the production cluster and modified it into a new single-node cluster with a different name, then modified my production rsyslog config to send duplicate events (specific application events) to the test cluster as well. I've since been testing my upgrade against that test node/cluster, upgrading redis, elasticsearch, logstash and kibana several times successfully and rolling back to snapshots to start again. For each of those upgrades, I upgraded ES from 1.5.2 to 2.4.5, then installed the migration plugin 2.0.4 and converted the indices in place, then upgraded to 5.4.1.