Finding count by distinct text row using Lens

Hello,

I am very very new to this, Like up until 12 hours ago I hadn't even heard of elastic Search or Kibana.

I do however have basic knowledge of SQL and Other Data visualization tools (including Data Studio and others).

I am using this with Twint (GitHub - twintproject/twint: An advanced Twitter scraping & OSINT tool written in Python that doesn't use Twitter's API, allowing you to scrape a user's followers, following, Tweets and more while evading most API limitations.) trying to analyze some data.

I want to find similar tweets based on text (& record count of occurrence) but it looks like I can using text based fields in lens.

Now, I can use text bases fields in discover but it doesn't aggregate to provide me a count of the same.

Am I looking at this incorrectly?

Please assist if you can.

I'm not sure I'm fully understanding what you want to do.

I want to find similar tweets based on text

What's "similar" here? Do you mean exactly the same text? If that's the case you can use the "Top values" function for the tweet field together with the "Count" function in Lens.

Hi,

Yes, "exact text match". But the problem is the tweet field is not visible in lens.

It is however visible in Discovery. Do I need to create some sort of index or something?

Adding more to it.

The available fields in discover are 37 but in less there are only 19 (see screenshots below).

Thanks,
Chetan

OK, so the difference between the Discover and Lens views are Discover working on individual documents while Lens works with aggregated data only.

Depending on how your index is configured, not all fields are aggregatable. For Discover this doesn't matter - it can still show all of them. But in Lens, the list of fields is pre-filtered.

If you go to Management > Index patterns you can see this:

agent.keyword is usable in Lens and will show up in the list, while agent is not. In Discover, you can use both fields.