Help needed for scripting for runtime fields

Hello everyone,

I am completely new to Elastic and scripting in general. I was told to install ElasticStack on our network for monitoring purposes.
I now have both Elasticsearch and Kibana installed. I am currently trying to create dashboards/visualizations for monitoring. It's great that it comes with a lot of pre-loaded fields and dashboards, but I am trying to create new fields/data views to create new dashboards.

I am trying to create a data view for all login attempts. Similar to the pre-loaded ssh login attempts (i.e. system.auth.ssh.events).
I tried following the 'Elastic Runtime Field example repository' I found online and few others, but it's not giving me the correct results, so I know I'm doing something wrong.

So far, I created the data view with the name 'system.auth.login.event', I enabled 'Set Value' and put the following in the 'Define Script' field:

if(!doc.containsKey('the password for the login keyring was invalid.')) {
  emit('Login Failed');
}

When I go into Discover and select my new created field in the 'Available fields' column, I get millions of results, which I know is incorrect because if I search for just the string "the password for the login keyring was invalid" in the KQL filter, I get under 100 results.

Could someone please tell me the correct scripting or a document for me to better understand it? Thank you.

Hi @jreyes25

welcome to the Kibana community.

When I go into Discover and select my new created field in the 'Available fields' column, I get millions of results, which I know is incorrect because if I search for just the string "the password for the login keyring was invalid" in the KQL filter, I get under 100 results.

How do you search for the in KQL?

I guess the problem there is to select the right field in the condition:

if(!doc["<field here">].value === 'the password for the login keyring was invalid.') {
  emit('Login Failed');
}
1 Like