How to add visualizations in Kibana custom plugins

Hello everyone,

I am new to plugin development and wonder how I can display visualizations in a custom Kibana plugin. Whether I include visualizations of saved objects or define new visualizations in the Javascript code is not important to me. I am currently using Kibana/Elastic Version 7.9.0

Unfortunately I only found outdated documentation on this Topic. One of the most promising links was this forum entry. Embedding visualization in Kibana custom plugin

I would be happy about an existing tutorial, webinar or sample code.
Thanks a lot and greetings
siiman

Hi @siiman,

Unfortunately there is no useful docs or guides on developing custom visualizations, please follow https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/kibana/7.9/development-visualize-index.html to learn more about current state and plans.

Nevertheless, if your end goal is display something custom on a dashboard (I am not sure, but just assuming), then I'd suggest to take a look at embeddables plugin: https://github.com/elastic/kibana/blob/master/src/plugins/embeddable/README.md

There are many examples on how to create a custom type of panel that can be added to a dashboard. Then inside of panel you could render anything you'd want: e.g. fetch you data and render as visualisation.

You could follow visualize embeddable source code to see how existing visualisations are implemented

Hope this is helpful.

Hello dosant,

thanks for your fast reply. Unfortunately I don't try to create a custom visualization but to integrate a standard visualization into a custom plugin (or app?).
Please excuse me, if I did not make this clear.