How to index my eCommerce website

My Requirement: I am using .NET C# for coding preference using Visual Studio 2017 and working to integrate Elasticsearch with my eCommerce website so that my website users can easily search my website.

My Current Understanding: I am new to elastic search and have found that for using Elastic search as database to search, first I need to add data to it (elasticsearch). I saw 2 methods to post data

1. using POST verb for adding data JSON data manually
  2. using some data dumps like for example XML dump file as data source which would be converted and saved as JSON data in ElasticSearch. (Reference: https://www.red-gate.com/simple-talk/dotnet/net-development/how-to-build-a-search-page-with-elasticsearch-and-net/). For achieving this I will need to create .NET application that would extract the XML files and convert them to JSON and then POST.

My Question: I am confused that is it necessary that for my eCommerce site to be indexed/inserted to Elastic search, I have to create some specific custom JSON object manually which I need to insert using POST manually ? Or is there some "automatic" way wherein (similar to google) I can simply give URL of my website and Elasticsearch would crawl all the links and index/insert data automatically and this data I can then use for search results ?

Please help me in my understanding of implementation of Elasticsearch. Also if there are other popular ways to insert data into Elasticsearch than my guide me for the same. Your help is appreciated.

I am confused that is it necessary that for my eCommerce site to be indexed/inserted to Elastic search

Yes. Elasticsearch only searches within its indices. Which means that something needs to send your data to it.

Or is there some "automatic" way wherein (similar to google) I can simply give URL of my website and Elasticsearch would crawl all the links and index/insert data automatically and this data I can then use for search results ?