I'm a noob at subnets / network masks and can't get my nodes to discover each other

Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong? I'm using three Amazon EC2 servers and I just want them to discover each other and form a cluster. They are part of a private subnet.

How should I add this to their elasticsearch.yml configs?

Also, I'm a bit confused about the network.host value. Should all three nodes be left at their default of local? Or do I need to find one node and keep that as local then set the other nodes to have that node's ip address?

Thank you

Hey!

I recommend reading this section in the elastic docs!

By default, elastic instances will talk to each other via port 9200 and 9300, so if you have security groups around those EC2 servers, you will have to open those ports.

A simple test would be to start elastic on machine X and from machine Y do

$> telnet IP_OF_X 9300

and see if you get a connection.

For my personal cluster in AWS, I have the following setting for EC2 nodes which are in a private subnet as well:

network:
  host: "0.0.0.0"
  publish_host: ""_ec2:privateIpv4_"
discovery:
  host_type: "private_ip"

Okay, I'll try this. I also set up Nginx as a reverse proxy on the / location block with port 9200, so maybe that is causing an issue? I didn't do anything with 9300.

If I ssh into one of the EC2 servers I am able to ping another one of the servers' IP addresses.

What is the _ec2 notation? I'm not familiar with that.

Also, does this mean we need to use this discovery-ec2 plugin or can we configure it without the plugin?

I am not sure why you need a proxy for inter node communication :frowning:

ping usually uses the ICMP protocol which can be enabled separately to the TCP protocol on AWS security groups. You need to check if you can talk on port 9200/9300 between nodes.

Based on this comment and your post below, I think you need to look up the AWS EC2 discovery plugin and read a bit more about it :slight_smile: