Import Apache Log File from Win10 to Kibana/Logstash on Debian

Hi Everyone,

I am new to Kibana, I have recently uploaded Apache Log File through Filebeat (Installed on Win10) but when I check on Kibana Discovery it is displaying only single entry of entire logfile.

My Setup:

Filebeat on Windows10 --> Logstash and Kibana Install on same machine (Debian)

Below is the snapshot

Can anyone help me?

Regards
Imran

• have you put index-pattern?
  • what's your config in filebeat? Does it just send to logstash or directly to elasticsearch? (if it sends directly to elasticsearch, it will be in filebeat* pattern)

Hi Kelk,

I am really thankful for the response, in filebeat I have just send to logstash.

I have no idea of any index pattern, could you please guide me?

Regards
Imran

that should help in creating index pattern in Kibana

Dear Kelk,

Thanks for the quick response.

I have already done this one but, i am suspecting something i have to do it with logstash, as i have forwarded the log file but haven't done anything on the logstash.

Is there anything I have to performed on logstash.conf file to accept and parse the logs to elasticsearch?

Regards
Imran

ok. My approach will be to do baby steps

1.configure filebeat
2.send to logstash and print-it out onto console to see if it reached logstash
3.If yes, then put the filters and then again print to console
4.if all good, then try sending to elasticsearch & then create index pattern

Step2 would be something like..

# logstash
input {
    beats {
      port => 5044
    }
}

# just output to logstash console
output {
    stdout {
        codec => rubydebug
    }
}

Dear Kelk,

could you please let me know how to run this file in linux to test the logstash?

Regards
Imran

Dear Kelk,

Below Error I am receiving

Dear Kelk,

It seems configuration is k, as per below result:

Please have a look and let me know the next step

Regards
Imran