Importing multiple large csv and json files into a single index

I have an folder containing data (20 GB) and this folder contains 26 subfolders that are sorted city-wise. Each of these subfolder contain many more subfolders comprising of csv and json files (The data that is stored in the files have different as well as somewhat similar fields) that I want to upload in bulk on elasticsearch. Apart from this, I also want to be able to specify the index name and mapping during the upload. For the same I have the following queries/requests :

1. Is this possible
  2. Can anyone please help out with a detailed explanation as to how this can be done as I'm a beginner in this field.
  1. Yes
  2. Yes!

You can tell Filebeat to look for particular files in it's input and then have those in specific input sections, eg one for *.csv and one for*.json. On the input you can also tag an event.

Then when you send them to Elasticsearch you can tell an output to filter only specific events, so the csv or json ones will go to the index you specifiy in set in each output section, you can also set the mapping there.

Take a look at filestream input | Filebeat Reference [8.6] | Elastic and Configure the Elasticsearch output | Filebeat Reference [8.6] | Elastic.

Can you please provide an example of exactly how this can be done along with a step-wise set of instructions for the same? I have referred to multiple documentations related to this but I find the instruction given to be a bit confusing.

Sorry for this but I'm new to elasticsearch and took this up as my first project.

How about you share what you have tried and what's not working and we can offer suggestions? That way we can help point out any mistakes and make it easier to learn.

Alright that makes sense. To start with, I'm facing issues with connecting filebeats with elasticsearch and kibana using cloud.auth (I'm unable to find it in the deployments overview-Security Section).