Is it ok to leave all my metricbeats with the default index name?

Is it ok to leave all my metricbeats with the default index name as long as i am able to display live data?
Or
Isit actually recommended to separate each instance's metric beat with a unique name?

I am setting up the ELK stack for the very first time and have some trouble manually loading the template with my own index name. No matter how i tried, the default index name keeps coming up.

*PS, i am new to elasticsearch and still learning from the documentation :slight_smile:

Hi @TsuWeiQuan and welcome :slight_smile:

For most of the cases the default index configuration is perfectly fine, so if you are giving your first steps with the stack the out-of-the-box configuration should be a good starting point. Once you have a better view of your needs you might consider to change the defaults.

In general this is not recommended, indexes are separated by beat, by version and by date. Separating them by beat and version allows to have different mappings, and separating by date (daily by default) helps on management, so you can for example delete old data per days.

How are you changing the index names? If you are using a 7.x version of the stack, and your Elasticsearch cluster supports Index Lifecycle Management (ILM), this feature controls your indexes, look to the ILM documentation to see how to configure it. If ILM is not being used, check template loading documentation to change the index names.

Thank you for the clarification for the default index name question!

Previously i was trying to change the index name by following the template loading documentation. I am using the 7.0.1 version and did not change much of the setting. I think ILM was controlling my indexes and i did not cover this part of the documentation yet hence rendering my manual template loading to be useless.