Kafkabeat - help

I am trying to follow the blog guide about Kafka:

to start collecting some Kafka stats.

I have basic experience with Beats via using the yum repos for installation.
No Beats development experience.
When I run the make command as instructed in the guide, the following error:

glide update  --no-recursive
make: glide: Command not found
make: *** [init] Error 127

I guess there's an assumption that the reader has some knowledge that I personally don't have.
I haven't found any topics on the forums here regarding Kafkabeat, and there isn't much info on google either regarding that error.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

This doesn't appear to be mentioned in the Kafkabeat documentation, but CONTRIBUTING.md in the Beats repository notes that you need to install glide.

@David_McClain Let me know if it worked with the installation of glide recommended by @magnusbaeck The non community beats have the dependencies checked in so no glide to just build it is needed. In the past we recommended for the community beats to use glide and that is when kafkabeat was built.

I'll be looking at it a little later this morning thanks.
Can you clarify on your phrase

so no glide to just build it is needed

Thanks

Non-community beats no longer depend on glide for building but community beats like Kafkabeat might still use glide.

Ok, I've installed Go, and Glide.
I'm on Centos 6.7.
I made sure that $GOPATH/github.com/gingerwizard exist (as per the README)
I also created $GOPATH/src , $GOPATH/bin , and $GOPATH/pkg

When I run

make init

again as per the README

I get this output resulting in an error:

make init
glide update  --no-recursive
[INFO]  Downloading dependencies. Please wait...
[INFO]  --> Fetching updates for github.com/elastic/beats.
[INFO]  --> Fetching updates for github.com/Shopify/sarama.
[INFO]  --> Fetching updates for github.com/davecgh/go-spew.
[INFO]  --> Fetching updates for github.com/eapache/queue.