Logstash and Kibana Visualization: A Simple Flag

WARNING: extreme ELK newbie....

Good afternoon ELK friends,

I am extremely new to ELK... and I apologize in advanced if any of my questions seem elementary.

What I'm trying to do, is simply visualize in Kibana from a file called "/var/log/test". The only thing my file contains is the word "on".

I want to create a visualization, searching for the word "on" in the index I created via Logstash using the file, and any time the file in /var/log/test is changed to "off" or anything else, I want Kibana to dynamically show this.

The problem is, I can't seem to figure out how to use Kibana to search for a specific string and I'm not sure where to start. I'm not sure if it's Logstash configuration or Kibana configuration.

If anyone could help or point me to a topic that might have already discovered this... I would be extremely grateful!!

Thanks for your time!

Are you getting any events into Elasticsearch? What do they look like?

Thanks for getting back to quick!

Here's my logstash conf for /var/log/test file:

input {
  file {
    type => "syslog"
    path => ["/var/log/test"]
    start_position => "beginning"
  }
}

filter {
  grok {
    match => { "message" => "%{WORD:yes}"}
  }
}

output {
  elasticsearch {
    action  => "index"
    hosts => "localhost:9200"
    index => "test"
    workers => 1
  }
  stdout {}
}

I run "logstash -f" and it takes it no problem. Indexing it into Kibana has no issue either.

After adding it in Kibana as an index pattern... the field "yes" shows up with a unique count of "1". But if /var/log/test is modified to say "no", nothing happens. When I restart Logstash... the unique count of "yes" goes up to "2".

Essentially what I want is for that count to go down to "0" if the file ever says log with a minimal amount of restarting services. I'm not sure if I'm going about it entirely the wrong way.

Thanks again!