Logstash windows version 6.3.2 wont start

I am new to elastic. Just downloaded the version of logstash 6.3.2, and want to try it with other components (beat, elasticsearch, kibana). So far, beat, elasticsearch and kibanna are working. However, when i followed the steps described in https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/logstash/current/configuration.html, logstash wont start.

I have logstash window version 6.3.2 at my local machine, created logstash-simple.conf (following the link given above), and ran logstash.bat -f logstash-simple.conf. Then got the following message:

warning: ignoring JAVA_OPTS= ; pass JVM parameters via LS_JAVA_OPTS

and logstash was not starting.

thanks.

1 Like

Then got the following message:

warning: ignoring JAVA_OPTS= ; pass JVM parameters via LS_JAVA_OPTS

Is that really all you get?

Yes, this is what i got only. In fact, doesnt look like the config file is read. If I typed in any junk as config file name (for example: logstash.bat -f aaa), it responded me with the same message (warning: ignoring JAVA_OPTS= ; pass JVM parameters via LS_JAVA_OPTS). In addition, if I started a new command line screen, and ran only logstash.bat without -f, it gave a different message (findstr...). But if i ran logstash.bat without -f again after running logstash.bat -f aaa, the message is "warning: ignoring JAVA_OPTS= ; pass JVM parameters via LS_JAVA_OPTS"

I am attaching a screen shot here. Please note what I did is (1) started a brand new command line screen; (2) ran logstash.bat without -f, (3) ran logstash.bat -f aaa; (4) ran again logstash.bat.

thanks.command-line-run-logstash-07-25-2018-three-times

Hello!
I have similar error, when trying to start Logstash 6.3.2
System: Windows Server 2012 R2

Elastic and Kibana starts immediately with no error. Java is ok: