Mapping conflict

Hello everyone,

I am new to using the Elasticsearch and Kiabana stack, I do not currently have Logstash installed and would prefer not to install it.

I recently had this error:

I don't know how to fix it, I think I have some conceptual problems, I have tried creating a second index called "prueba" using the reindex API:

POST _reindex?wait_for_completion=false
{
  "source": {
    "index": "metrics-*"
  },
  "dest": {
    "index": "prueba"
  }
}

But I don't know how to proceed now.

• Would it be possible to simply fix the data type of that field?

• Would it be possible to delete the field or delete the metrics and start again from scratch? (since I am in a testing environment and the information is not relevant)

Although I would like to know how to solve it properly for when the environment is production

Thank you very much to all! :bouquet:

Welcome!

The error message indicates that you have one of the index starting with metrics- which has a wrong mapping.
So you need to find first what is this index.

You can do that by comparing all the mappings (which might be a very manual task though). You can run the following command in the Dev Console:

GET /metrics-*/_mapping/field/host.ip

Once you know, you can:

• Remove the wrong index (but this will remove its data)
  • Reindex the wrong index with the right mapping to a new index named like metrics-xxx-fixed and then remove the wrong index

But you also need to understand who or which tool created this wrong index. Was that a manual test you did? A bug?...

No. "Simply" would mean to reindex. Which is what I suggested and what you did somehow.

Yes.

Hope this helps

Hello! Thank you very much for the quick response,

About finding the conflicting index, sorry, I knew which but I forgot to mention it. Although I didn't really know how to use this information either, Kibana's own interface shows it here: