MDC logs, ELK and filebeat

Hi,

I am new to Elastic stack. I am trying to creating a log management system. And while searching I came across MDC. So, I want to know about MDC logs and how it is useful in respect of filebeat or logstash log parsing. How it is going to help me in maintain the ECS format. Please help me providing any information regarding this.

Hi ash,

MDC stands for "Mapped Diagnostic Context". In general, it helps you to provide information to the logging framework which is not available at the location of the logging call. This is not a feature of Elastic Stack but of the respective logging framework.

Example:
You have an web application where a user logs in and can browse websites which get data from a database. In the web controller you do
MDC.put("session",sessionid);
In you database access layer you create logs if an error occurs but the layer does not know which user initiated the call.
In the logfile you can still access the session ID as the value was stored in the MDC.

This helps you to group log entries together which belong together. You can see what actions the user did in the same session before the error occured so you might be able to reproduce it.
You can also log other user relevant data in the same way which helps you to fill the fields under user.* .

Other useCases are the apm agents: https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/apm/agent/index.html
They can add their IDs to the MDC so you can correlate the data between your log entries and the application performance monitoring.

Does this answer your question?

Best regards
Wolfram

Thanks @Wolfram_Haussig for replying, okay I get that MDC is used to group log entries together. I want to reduce the use of grok patterns in logstash and such that logs entry can be easily divided into fields without using grok patterns, and is MDC logging is somehow related to this?