Monitoring csv files in a directory using logstash.conf

Dear All,
I am new to ELK stack and have recently installed logstash, Elasticsearch and Kibana (all version 5.4 on CentOS 6.5).

Objective is to monitor a directory for new csv files and parse them using logstash and index them into Elasticsearch for report generation.

I can parse the files through the command line (/usr/share/logstash/bin/logstash -f logstash.conf) and it gets successfully parsed and indexed in ES, however when i put the conf file under /etc/logstash/conf.d folder, it does not process the csv files.

my logstash.conf is as below

input {
file {
path => "/root/ELK/wallet-data/*.csv"
start_position => "beginning"
sincedb_path => "/dev/null"
}
}
filter {
csv {
separator => ","
columns => ["date","description","moneyIn","moneyOut","tx"]
}
}
output {
elasticsearch {
hosts => "http://localhost:9200"
index => "wallet-index"
}
}

I have enabled debug for the logfile and i can see it trying to process the conf file and get the column-names etc but nothing gets indexed in ES.

Not sure what am i doing wrong over here. Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks
sirsyedian

does it work when you put your conf-file into the conf.d-directory and call it via cmd line?

/usr/share/logstash/bin/logstash -f /etc/logstash/conf.d/logstash.conf

have you also tried to run logstash via service?
(i'm running it as a service deamon and config-files in /conf.d/ will be recognized)

I can parse the files through the command line (/usr/share/logstash/bin/logstash -f logstash.conf) and it gets successfully parsed and indexed in ES, however when i put the conf file under /etc/logstash/conf.d folder, it does not process the csv files.

In the second case, how are you starting Logstash?

Yes, it works fine when i call the conf file (from within the conf.d direcory) via cmd line.