Need help with creating Kibana Alert

Hello everyone,
I am new to the Elasticstack in general and I have encountered a problem with creating an Alert using the Elasticsearch Query. I am using the index from metricbeat that indexes various processes of a host. From there I want the number of matches in the threshold to be below 1 so that the action is triggered whenever there is 0 match (meaning that the process is not working).
But this is not the case in my testing as when I stopped the host server to test the alert, the alert status would just change from active to ok with no instance of the alert to be found.
Could someone please help me with this problem? Thank you in advance!

Hi @Long_Nguyen Welcome to the community.

Yes that is interesting... I got the same result.

I will check internally if that is a bug or the designed behavior.

In the meantime I did find a hack / work around if you are interested...

1 Like

Hi @stephenb ,

Thank you so much for the reply. Yes, I am interested in the work around. Could you please show me? I would appreciate it a lot! :slight_smile:

Ok as I said it is a Hack or maybe we should just call it creative .. :slight_smile:

So we will use a Log Threshold alert.

To do that we are going to treat your metricbeat-* data as log entries.

To do that you we will add metricbeat-* as a log source under the logs app.

Add metricbeat-* as a log source and save it.

Now we can use Logs Threshold alert

Create an alert with the conditions you want use Add Condition to add additional conditions
You can even group by host.name so if the process is working on 1 host but not the other it will figure that out and only alert on the ones that it is missing on (Kinda Cool right?)

Give that a try let me know....

1 Like

Hi @stephenb ,

Thank you for the reply. I just tried the hack this morning. However to my surprise, I found what could be a bug on my Kibana (version 7.12.0). :sweat_smile: