Newbie question: Timelion metric/split

Hi,

I'm new to Kibana and i'am struggling on a -maybe- simple thing.

I have this Timelion graph' :

.**es(index="netflow-*", metric="sum:netflow.bytes", split="netflow.src_port_name:10", kibana=true)**.scale_interval(1s).fit(mode=scale).if(operator="lt", if=0, then=0).trim(start=2,end=1).label(regex="^.* netflow.src_port_name:(.+) > .*$", label="$1").lines(width=1, stack=true, fill=10, steps=true).yaxis(label="bytes / sec", min=0)

This show me a graph' of my Netflow informations. It aggregates on netflow.bytes and split on src_port_name:10, keeping only the top 10.

The problem is that in my top 10 i have the 10 protocols that "appears" the most in the index, but i would like the top 10 protocols in terms of Bytes (so after the aggregation).

It means that if i do a single connection on an unusual port with a LOT of trafic (Bytes), it will only generate a single flow (= log line) and i won't appear on the top 10. On the other hands, protocols that are doing a lot of flows (eg DNS) but very few Bytes will appear in the top 10.

If someone understand the issue, i would like to get advices to have the correct behavior :slight_smile:

Thank you

Hi, this is about having the buckets of a terms aggregation sorted by a metric sub-aggtregation instead of the doc_count of the bucket. Unfortunately, Timelion does not support this at the moment.

However, the Time Series Visual Builder visualization can do this. Note how I'm able to order by "Sum of metric":

BTW TSVB just uses aggregation features of Elasticsearch to do this. A raw Elasticsearch query for data ordered like this looks like:

POST /metrics/_search
{
  "aggs": {
    "cats": {
      "terms": {
        "field": "cat",
        "size": 10,
        "order": {
          "metric_sum": "desc"
        }
      },
      "aggs": {
        "metric_sum": {
          "sum": {
            "field": "metric"
          }
        }
      }
    }
  }
}

Hi,

Thank you for your reply.