Normalize the logs with ELK

Dear ELK Team,

it is my first time with ELK, in the my workplace i woud get collection , standardization, analysis, correlation, reporting the logs of Firewall palo and switch CISCO...I am in a hurry, I worked with a lot of tools mangement, but i can't normalize the logs :slightly_frowning_face::frowning_face:

please help and many thanks to everyone

Hi,

You can use a Logstash server to parse the logs using grok send to elasticsearch server and see the data with Kibana Dashboards.

1 Like

Hi @Labidi_Ayoub,

I am not very familiar with configuring Cisco devices but I would expect it to be similar to what we use for our Juniper syslogs... My assumption is based on this

Add a syslog input to Logstash. Something like this

# Juniper log JSON input
  syslog {
    port => 5518
    grok_pattern => "%{SYSLOG5424PRI}%{NUMBER:syslog_severity} %{SYSLOGLINE}"
    type => "juniper"
    add_field => {
      "[@metadata][index]" => "juniper"
      "[@metadata][log_prefix]" => "dc"
    }
  }

Only the port number is really required. Change Juniper to Cisco (or whatever you want to call it...) The rest are optional configurations for my environment and log formats. That grok pattern will probably not work for you so start without it.

Configure your Cisco devices to use the IP of your Logstash machine and the port for the syslog input.

The you need at least an output configuration. This is what I use

output {
  elasticsearch {
    hosts => ["my_elasticsearch_host:9200"]
    index => "%{[@metadata][log_prefix]}-%{[@metadata][index]}-%{+YYYY.MM.dd}"
  }
}

You can see how I use the @metadata fields to name the Elasticsearch indices.

For more parsing of the logs you need to add some filters which depend on the log format.

Hope that helps.

1 Like