Percentage repeats year over year

I am relatively new to ELK. Unfortunately I'm a sysadmin and definitely not an analytics person. This means that while I've been able to setup the ELK stack and even injest and work with data, I am pretty novice at doing anything robust with visualizations.

We have a situation where I think ELK is more than adequate for us and our customers. Unfortunately we, as a small company, have done everything manually in the past so many think that it is impossible to automate these analytic tasks. I'm hoping to learn enough to show our team that, with the proper tools, we can do things much more effeciently.

Enough back story and on to the task. I have injested roughly 8 years worth of project data from our CRM. I have mapped the @timestamp properly and the data looks good in Discover. I've even created some basic aggregation charts of top clients, etc.

The first chart the execs want to see is a chart that shows what percentage of clients which we worked for in the previous year did we also do in the present year. So basically I need a chart that looks at the client names from (year-1y) and matches those to the client names from (year) and ignores the new ones and gives a percentage of the ones from year-1y that are repeats.

Can someone give me some guidance on where to start on something like this? I've done, and will continue doing, some searching on my own but if someone out there can give me some useful info to start with, I would greatly appreciate it.

I was able to create a vertical chart with yearly unique customers. Now I just need to do some kind of percentage match with the previous year.

It looks like some have been looking at something similar back in 2015. GordonM phrases it like "this month compared to this month last year (or day, year, week, etc.)"

It seems that some have been able to do similar in timelion so I am refocusing my efforts to that. Still interested in guidance though if someone's willing to help.