[Plugin Development] Table - Comparable Offset

Hello!

I'm starting to develop a plugin that adds a feature in table vis: a comparable percentage of a metric value based on a time offset. The idea, basically, is show the difference between two time ranges (e.g.: today vs yesterday, today vs last week, etc). To clarify, this is what the table would look like:

In the example above, the second column is the sum of the metric1 for a specific time range (e.g.: today) and the percentage is the difference based on a specific time offset (e.g.: yesterday). So, in the first row, today's value increased 23% from yesterday. Both time range and offset would be configured by form parameters (something similar to date_range aggregation form).

About the plugin development itself: I started studying some examples from tutorials and source code, but I still have some questions:

• Firstly, should I develop a hack plugin or a new vis plugin?
  • For the request, I'm considering "injecting" an date_range aggregation in the query, but I couldn't find any example of this approach. What would be the best way to do this "injection"?
  • For the response - considering that I'll use the date_range aggregation - I wrote a basic ResponseHandler that extracts the comparable metric value (yesterday), calculates the difference, inserts it in the original time range value line (today) and deletes the date_range aggregation. Finally, I use the aggResponse.tabify to build a table response for the visualization. I was able test this solution adding the date_range aggregation manually. Is this the best place to modify the response? Should I implement this in the esResponse instead?
  • In the visualization side, I simply added a "comparable" value in the table cell rendering function.