Scripted field: Read field data from a document using doc['some_filed'].value statement is not working for bigger field data

Hi Everyone,
I am new to kibana. Need your help to solve the following problem which am facing from a day.
I am working on kibana scripted field approach to transform a field value by accessing it using "doc[some_field].value" statement and perform some computation using groovy script then finally return a new field.

Problem:

"doc[some_field].value" is returning null in-case if the field value is large.

Kibana version is : 6.0.1
field name: message.keyword => doc[message.keyword].value
language: painless
Type: String
Format: default(String)
New field name: channel
example script: if (doc['message.keyword'].value != null) {
return "data-present";
} else {
return "data-not-present";
}

for one set of events the above script is returning "channel" value as "data-present" and for rest of the events script is returning "data-not-present".
Especially "data-not-present" value is getting returned incase if the accessing field value is larger in length.
is this the expected behavior? if not - please could someone help me what is the mistake am doing here.

Sample long message => doc[message.keyword].value: