Searching multiple fields(x,y) in Elasticsearch index "A" for entries in present in a field(z) in different index "B"

Hi,

I have a index which captures logs from various security devices at the perimeter. I want to check for possible connections from/to blacklisted IPs.

I have a index, which has the logs of the device and another index which contains blacklisted IPs ( updated daily).

How do I filter device logs for connections to the blacklisted IP addresses.

I'm a newbie to ELK stack. Can you please help me out with this.

Thanks
Natarajan

Hello i already had this use case, and for the query i used https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/reference/1.4/query-dsl-terms-filter.html#_terms_lookup_twitter_example

Hi Camilo,

Should the field names in both the indices be same ?
The query I tried based on the term filter is not working as expected. Please let me know if I have made any mistake in the query.

Device logs -
Index name : device_logs
Fields to be filtered : source_address, destination_address

Blacklisted IP -
Index name : blacklisted_ip
Field to be used for filtering - ip_address

Please find the query below -
I have used "id" : "*" for filtering on all the documents in the field ip_address

curl -XGET localhost:9200/device_logs/_search -d '{
{
"query": {
"filtered": {
"filter": {
"terms": {
"logs": {
"index": "blacklisted_ip",
"type": "logs",
"id": "*",
"path": "ip_address"
},
"_cache_key": "blacklst_ip_match"
}
}
}
}
}

what i made is in your index blacklisted_ip i keep a inner object with all the blacklist ip_address, and after in id i give the id of my inner object.

i'm not sure that the "*" in the Id works, and if it works not sure that is a good idea.

Thanks for the inputs Camilo ... I'm a newbie and I have not worked with inner objects in ES..Is there any ES guide for that where I can familiarise with the concepts... I'm not able to find any examples on inner objects for this use case. Please let me know..