Solving aggregating/sorting on numerical fields

Hi there,
It's my first post here and I'm still a beginner regarding ES, so please feel free to help with guidelines I might have forgotten when posting this :slight_smile:

I took over a rather old project (late 2017) that was using ES 5.5 and was working fine at the time, and have to update its components (this is my first time using ES). ES is used there to handle indexing and searching documents, in what is basically a book collection; two indices handle searching into the "structure" (titles, chapters, etc.) and four other indices, more comprehensive, handle full-text indexing.

While fixing the breaking changes from 5.5 to 7.10 went smoothly up until now (including dividing mapping types into multiple indices), and while my indexing scripts run fine, I run into some issues when performing full-text search on my application.

I get the following errors, observed when looking at my server logs (Tomcat/Catalina):
Text fields are not optimised for operations that require per-document field data like aggregations and sorting, so these operations are disabled by default. Please use a keyword field instead. Alternatively, set fielddata=true on [ordnum] in order to load field data by uninverting the inverted index. Note that this can use significant memory.
Text fields are not optimised for operations that require per-document field data like aggregations and sorting, so these operations are disabled by default. Please use a keyword field instead. Alternatively, set fielddata=true on [typedoc] in order to load field data by uninverting the inverted index. Note that this can use significant memory.