Subheadings in Elasticsearch/clean up system logs

Hi, I'm brand new to the whole ELK stack, I've setup one in my company. I just wanted to know how best to clean up the logs, I'm getting a lot of system logs from the server and I don't want them. I just want the logs from our application. Is it possible to set headings and subheadings that point to those app logs, because at the moment, I've added logs into filebeat.yml and I've just added in tags and then saved those searches, would be nice to have the app logs subheadings down the side of Elasticsearch. Apologies for my question, I know I'm asking quite a lot and not sure if its even possible in Elasticsearch. Thanks.

Hi @eprop-marc,

glad to hear you're trying it out. The logs app at this point doesn't have a way to store sets of filters, but it's something we're thinking about. In the meantime a workaround could be to bookmark the logs app with the filters applied. They are stored in the URL and would be restored when you open the bookmark.

I just found the enhancement issue [Metrics & Logs UI] Saved Queries and Universal Kuery Bar · Issue #48290 · elastic/kibana · GitHub, which seem to be related to your question.

Hi Felix, thanks for your quick reply. With regards to the system logs Im getting from the server Elastic is hosted on, is there a way to disable those metrics please? My Kibana output gets spammed with them.

Yes, you should be able to tune the filebeat configuration to only pick up the logs you want. Could you provide more details about the filebeat configuration and the enabled modules? Which paths are you harvesting?