Take out bits of a URIPATH in Logstash

Hi!

My name is Simon and I'm pretty new to ELK. I have been working with it for a few weeks now and I'm starting to understand how everything works (I think?). Back to the point, I am right now using Logstash to read from a nexus log file which shows which repositories are being updated. The problem is that the log spits out a message with a whole path to the specific repository. I want to make a custom grok filter that only extracts the specific repository.

There is a pattern that follows which is that the name "repositories" always comes before the specific repository name like "nexus/blablabla/repositories/monkey"

I want to extract the "monkey" part so I can get useful data out of it when I'm visualizing it in Kibana 4. So far I've managed to create a custom grok filter that gets it down to "repositories/monkey" but that's it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards

Simon

So, given nexus/blablabla/repositories/monkey you want to extract "money"? This should work:

grok {
  match => ["uri", "/repositories/(?<repo>[^/]+)"]
}

Thank you. I will try this! Can I just write the regular expression directly into the logstash config file without using a grok pattern? I didn't know that.

Hello again. I tried putting in your pattern. Unfortuneately I got the same result as I did with the old one I created which was "repositories/my-repository-name". Now my field also shows up under "missing fields". What does this mean?

Best regards.

Can I just write the regular expression directly into the logstash config file without using a grok pattern? I didn't know that.

Grok is just a convenience layer on top of plain old regular expressions.

I tried putting in your pattern. Unfortuneately I got the same result as I did with the old one I created which was "repositories/my-repository-name".

What, exactly, did you try? The following minimal example works as expected:

$ cat test.config 
input { stdin { codec => plain } }