This Should be Easy - Percent of one Value of a Field

So here’s the deal. I am a noob. I’ve been somewhat forced into this but it is what it is. Forgive me ahead of time for not knowing the syntax or this or that. I assure you I have read a ton, I’m just not as smart as you probably are - so thanks in advance.

Here is what I have. A Kibana index with about 1100 records. Each record has probably 20 fields. I have one field that lists the “point of contact” for the “application name” (another field). I also have a field that is the “portfolio” (ie Security, HR, Finance, etc).

All I want to do is create a bar or pie chart that shows the total number of records and then the percentage that are missing. I want to be able to drill in for each portfolio but I can do that with a control filter.

I also want to create a stacked bar chart that has the portfolio name on the Y-Axis and then the percent complete of their “point of contact” field. In other words if the security portfolio has 50 apps and 25 of them have empty an point of contact field then they are 50% complete. In short, any entry that isn’t blank “” I want to put into a complete bucket. And I want to compare the missing/empty fields with the total records.

I know I could do this with a scripted field but my Kibana offering doesn’t allow scripted fields (long story).

So I think Vega is the way to do this but even referencing fields has been a bit of a nightmare for me.

Any ideas or nudges in the wrong way would be greatly appreciated.

dandcp,

Just to be clear, for chart 1 you just want like pie chart with 2 slices, one that represents number of records with a POC and number of records without? If so, then you do an aggs - terms query for the POC and include this:
{"aggs": {"2": {"terms": {"field": "pocField", "order": {"_count": "desc"}, "missing": "MISSING", "size": 500}}}

Once you have that, you can do your format ("format": {"property": "aggregations.2.buckets"}.