Unable to add geo_point mapping with sub lat/lon properties

Hello,
Hopefully this is an easy answer but not a stupid question. I am fairly new to the Elastick Stack in general but learning my way around.

I am attempting to get a Coordinate Map visualization using the GeoIP data from RDP logins. I have the winlogbeat configured to send the data to logstash and logstash configured to do the geoip lookup on the source ip which is all working. I got that far following the guide here:

However the Index Pattern does not contain a geo_point field and only contains the latitude and longitude in 4 "number" type fields

geoip.latitude|number
geoip.location.lat|number
geoip.location.lon|number
geoip.longitude|number

From the guide and from what i have read and determined i need to setup a new dymanic mapping called geoip.location of the geo_point type containing the sub fields (2 of the ones above) but i have been unable to do so. I found some code below which seems close but fails.

PUT _template/winlogbeat_1
{
"order": 1,
"template": "winlogbeat-*",
"mappings": {
"default": {
"properties": {
"geoip" : {
"dynamic": true,
"properties" : {
"ip": { "type": "ip" },
"location" : { "type" : "geo_point" },
"latitude" : { "type" : "float" },
"longitude" : { "type" : "float" }
}
}
}
}
}
}

Thanks,
Daryl

can you explain exactly what you refer to when it 'fails'? in your above post? Do you get an exception? Do you get an error when applying the template or do you get an error when indexing the document?

Also note that creating a template does not mean it is applied immediately. You have to create a new index first in order for this to be applied.

Of source I will explain more sorry, when I made the post I was 3 hours into trying to figure this out and getting frustrated lol.

When i attempt to run that code to create the template via the console I get the following response.