Use common field to filter 2 indexes

I'm new to Lens and this is what I'm hoping to accomplish

I have one index that contains transaction request information from clients and another index that contains the transaction response information for those clients. When things are operating normally there is a client id associated with each record that can be used as an identifier.

The issue is that if there is a problem with the backend processing system a value of 'UNKNOWN' gets entered into the client id for the response thus breaking the client chain for a transaction.

There is however a unique record identifier that is created by the transaction processing system that gets injected into each record that we can use when it is just a couple of clients that have a problem. We can take the uuid from the error response and go into the Kibana Discover space and search on that uuid and find out who the client was and what that passed in that could have caused an issue.

The problem is that when we have any sort of an outage window and we have to determine client impact it's very problematic to do this when there are possibly 1,000's of errors.

So my question then becomes can I create a Lens visualizations where I filter on the uuid's of the response error transactions and apply it to the request index so that I can get the corresponding client id?

TIA,
Bill Youngman

This kind of request chaining (using the response of one request to build the second request) is not possible in Lens today.

The only place I'm aware of supporting something like this in Kibana at the moment is Canvas and using the results of SQL queries to build new SQL queries:

filters
| essql query={string "SELECT * FROM \"kibana_sample_data_logs\" WHERE extension in (" {filters | essql query="SELECT extension FROM otherindex WHERE filter='yes'" | joinRows column="extension" separator=","} ")"}
| table
| render