Using a string value (multistate) as Y-Axis

Hi everyone,

I'm new at using Kibana and I need some help.
I managed to create some graphics with my datas from Logstash/Elasticsearch (like how many of certain type of message by day), but I'm now stuck with one graphic I need :
The point is to see the evolution of a multistate data (saved as a string in Kibana). This one has 3 states possible, but I can't find a way to use it as an Y-Axis.
Before Kibana, I used some Excel files to create the graph, and I had to convert the string into an integer (so 0, 1 or 2) and then rename the value in the graphic (but that wasn't really that).
Is there a similar way in Kibana or do I need to create the field in Logstash ? Or even better, is there a direct way to use the string in Kibana ?

If you need more details about what I want, please ask. And sorry for my poor english if I made mistakes !

Thank you !

Hi Myllka,

I'm not sure what kind of chart you are trying to create. There's a vertical bar chart. What would be on the X-Axis, time?
Maybe you can post a screenshot of your Excel chart if you still have something like it?

Regards,
Lee

Sure, here it is:

I have another issue with the same graph, can't I put 2 fields to the split lines to have Server + Service or do I need to create a merged field in Logstash too ?

Thanks.

I think to show those values on the Y-Axis you would have convert them to numbers. If you're on Elasticsearch and Kibana 5.0 you can use scripted fields in Kibana with the Painless language. I made one scripted field with this script;

if (doc['name.keyword'].value == "a") return 1;
if (doc['name.keyword'].value == "b") return 2;
if (doc['name.keyword'].value == "c") return 3;
if (doc['name.keyword'].value == "d") return 4;
return 0;

Note that the fields you use like my name.keyword above can not be analyzed strings. If they are strings that have to be keywords.