Using Kibana to detect DDOS attacks for Analysis - Home Lab

Hello everyone, i'm new to Infosec and very new to ELK stack. I am running a home lab inside a VM.

I've downloaded a sample DDos dataset from kaggle.com and ingested that data into elk stack, but not really sure what to do next. The data is parsed, but to what extent, I do not know. Is it good enough to create dashboards and analyze the attack and in what manner, I do not know?

Looking for a little guidance from the experts. I want to able to extract useful data by creating interesting GUIs.

Happy June Day, and glad to try and help out.

First, what is it that you'd like to do with this data set? If it provides good examples of a typical denial of service (impact) technique, what would you like to create from it?

As a preliminary step, you should use the Discover interface (left hand icon panel) to explore the data and learn what is actually parsed. You should make sure you adjust the time appropriately - if the data has timestamps, looking at the last 7 days of events may not show any results if the data was created last year or last month.

If you were interested in just understanding what a denial of service looks like, it will depend on what the data set depicts, but you could create some one-to-many or many-to-one visualizations in lens that visualize the relationship between source(s) and destination(s). I'll mention that this is less helpful if you want to understand what an individual denial of service attempt looks like, since they are only effective en masse; in other words, you want to try and visualize the phenomenon and not the parts of the whole.