"Visualize: "field" is a required parameter" error

Hi all,

I'm new to ELK Stack, I have it installed on Ubuntu 16.04 and I'm also using packetbeat. I have packetbeat capture data through a tap and then, send it to logstash, then to elasticsearch. The data is coming in nicely but, I'm getting this error on my Kibana and the Packetbeat dashboard isn't showing anything. Not really sure what the issue is.

Is it because my packet capture doesn't have all the required data?

Thanks in advance!

What version of Kibana and elasticsearch are you using?

Just successfully repro'ed in master. Filed an issue so you can track further progress here: https://github.com/elastic/kibana/issues/9571

Hi @zacesa,

This issue could be if your packetbeat index has no data, which is why I was seeing it. As soon as data started coming in, I refreshed the packetbeat field list and everything works as expected.

If you are still seeing this issue, let me know if refreshing the field list in Management helps, and if all fields have a type assigned to them.

@Stacey_Gammon I have data coming in, I've also refreshed the field list but, I'm still getting the error.

I deleted my index pattern from Kibana, thinking I could readd it back and hopefully fix this issue but I just made it worse, now when I click management, all I get is a blank page.

After I deleted the index pattern from kibana, a new index came up in my elastic search when I ran, curl -XGET localhost:9200/_cat/indices

yellow open %{[@metadata][beat]}-2016.12.21 GqdmtZmhS4mZ5zyfTCNH2g 5 1 183613 0 67.9mb 67.9mb

I can't seem to delete this index since there's curly brackets in the name of the index.

UPDATE: Managed to delete the index with curl -XDELETE localhost:9200/*metadata* but, I'm still getting blank pages on Kibana. The pages I get blank are, Discover, Visualize, Dashboard, Dev Tools, Management.