What's your Watcher use case?

I'm currently exploring Watcher and I very much like the idea of having triggers and actions. But I fail to see any really good use cases.

One often used example is sending an email when there are errors in de indexed application logging. But I could also set up a Kibana dashboard for that. Yes, I know this is only a good alternative during business hours.

For every possible use case for Watcher I come up with, I see a good alternative solution. So I was wondering if there are others with very Watcher use cases to inspire me to use Watcher in ways I good never image.

Just post your ideas about using Watcher and inspire the rest of us.

I'm also new to watcher after implementing ELK stack in our environment. I'm still evaluating watcher right now but for our setup, I can see it being useful.

I'm currently sending Syslog output into ELK (via Logstash forwarders) and we use a third party product to check Syslog logs for issues in our estate. At some point in the future, we'll probably move from syslog and send all our logs direct to logstash (maybe via Redis) removing syslog entirely and replacing it with ES. We still need something that can do what our third party product did which is why i think watcher has been developed.

We also have a script to interrogate ES for specific data so I may end up using that for pattern matching and emailing.

I'm using Kibana3 and I would be very interested to know how you setup email alerts in your dashboard.

1 Like

Hi Patrick, this is a question I have heard a number of times, and I'm eager to hear others in the community share their stories. Dennis - thanks for sharing! We see many people using ELK to process and alert on syslog data.