Alert on SUM of field exeeding certain value?

Hi,

I'm new to X-pack and have a question about watches.

I'm using ELK to monitor the status of a satellite based internet connection we have at various locations. I would like to know if I can use a watch to sum up the total bytes transferred since the start of the month and send an email alert if the sum exceeds a predefined value in the script?

I had a quick look at the user guide but it isn't immediately clear to me if this is possible.

So something like;

Schedule: Every 3 hours
Time range: 1st day of this month until now
where host:x.x.x.x (used to identify location by IP)
If SUM total.bytes > 10GB then send alert email

If possible I would like the automated email to include the host IP and SUM as well but that is not so important at this point.

Hey,

this sounds possible to me. The important part here is to write a proper search query (independent from the watch). The search query needs to do the following

• have a range filter in your query that filters from the first of the month until now
  • have a term filter in your query (or a match query), that filters for the host you are interested in
  • have a sum aggregation in your request, that counts up your bytes (use the sum aggregation

Now you got the correct data (a single aggregation response returning a number), which you can use in the watcher condition to check if it exceeds a threshold.

If it does, send an email - where you can include this exact data.

One last thing: If the IP is dynamic, you could just have an aggregation for the ip address, and then calculate the sum for each IP.

Hope this helps.

--Alex

This is difficult. I know its my own incompetence but I'm getting nowhere with this. It's all syntax errors, input type errors and whatnot.