App Search: how to best index a site that doesn't crawl well - Confluence wiki for example

I'm very new to search and elastic, and I would like to close a large gap in my understanding. I'm reading your docs, done the tutorials, but I feel like I'm missing something basic.

So I'm working on a niche tech support site that has a search box that searches on more than a dozen sites of differing types.

So far I've set up a meta engine with Elastic Could App Search, set up webcrawls on everything, and used the Search UI, which all works beautifully. Very easy - thank you Elastic.

Now I'm running into the expected problem that webcrawl doesn't work everywhere. As stated in the docs, webcrawler won't work on single page-type websites. And we've got an Atlassian Confluence Wiki Space where searches don't seem to work.

So I see that there are many types of connectors for Workplace Search, including one for Confluence. Can I somehow use these with App Search? What do people do when they want to index something like their confluence wiki pages into an App Search engine?

Hey @tonyfam ,

Have you looked at Connecting Confluence Cloud | Workplace Search Guide [8.4] | Elastic already?

App Search and Workplace Search are both part of Enterprise Search. While the Confluence Connectors are currently part of Workplace Search, they do have access to a lot of the same features available in App Search. Is there something in particular in App Search that you're tied to?

Definitely I would not expect Crawler to work well on Confluence. Unfortunately, crawler shines best right now when you have only static sites, and are in full control of your HTML and sitemaps. That's just not the situation with Confluence.

Sean, thank you for the answer. Yes, I have looked at that, which is why I was wondering how to do the same in App Search.